Archives & Readers' Guides > Archives of Book Discussions

Elegance of the Hedgehog ~ Muriel Barbery ~ Book Club Online ~ April 1st

(1/61) > >>

BooksAdmin:

The Book Club Online is  the oldest  book club on the Internet, begun in 1996, open to everyone.  We offer cordial discussions of one book a month,  24/7 and  enjoy the company of readers from all over the world.  everyone is welcome to join in.

"Prickly and popular novel on class and culture" - 

"Central to the book's appeal is the compelling voice of its main character, Renée Michel, a 54-year-old Paris apartment-building concierge who struggles to hide her self-taught erudition and cultivation from snobby, rich tenants. She disdains their élitist notions of class and social order, but she knows the residents would be outraged at discovering what a deep grasp the hired help has of art and learning. So Renée masks her intellect behind the persona expected of her lowly station." Time Magazine

The second narrator in the book is the precocious 12 year old daughter of one of the tenants, who hides her intelligence  from a world she finds meaningless.  The two characters neatly mirror one another in a philosophical tale of contrasts which succeeds in resolving some issues of life and death.
Discussion Schedule:

April 1-3 ~ Marx Preamble pgs.17-27
April 4-10 ~ Camellias ~  pgs.31-129 (Topics for April 4)
April 11-14 ~ On Grammar ~ pgs.133-170
April 15-19 ~ Summer Rain ~ pgs.173-238
April 20-26 ~ Paloma ~ pgs. 241-315
April 27 ~ My Camellias ~ pgs. 316-325
Final Thoughts     

For Your Consideration
April 1-3 ~ Marx Preamble ~ pgs.17-27
1.  A concierge who reads Marx!   Might one  suspect she is contemplating subversion or joining a  union?  Why is she reading his German Ideology?

2. "Mankind would do better to confine itself to its own needs." Does it appear that Mme. la Concierge is doing just that?  Do you understand the title of this chapter:  "Whosoever sows desire harvests oppression?"